If you own a new car in Florida that is constantly breaking down, you may be eligible for a buyback or vehicle replacement. New cars and vehicles purchased in the state of Florida that qualify as lemons can be returned for either reimbursement or replacement by the manufacturer/dealer. To get the most out of your lemon law situation, consider engaging the services of an experienced Florida lemon law attorney.
Florida’s lemon law involves several components. Find out more about your options for getting a vehicle replaced or repurchased with the Florida Lemon Law.
Do You Have a Lemon?
Vehicles in Florida qualify as lemons if they are out of service for a minimum of 30 days due to one or more repair nonconformities. Recreational vehicles require a 60-day period.
Vehicles that continue to exhibit defects even after a “reasonable number of repair attempts,” (three in the state of Florida) are considered lemons. Customers who want to make a claim for a lemon must allow the manufacturer one final opportunity to repair the vehicle and solve the problem before taking action.
Bear in mind that the definition of a lemon varies from state to state. While used vehicles may be covered under certain states’ lemon laws, used vehicles are not covered under the Florida lemon law.
Returning a Car Under Lemon Law Statutes
The process of returning a lemon under the Florida lemon law includes the following steps:
- Research Florida’s lemon law – While this article is intended to assist readers with understanding some elements of the Florida lemon law, the terms are quite involved, and a full understanding would require more in-depth research. Acquiring the services of an experienced Florida lemon law attorney is the wisest thing to do for not only a comprehensive understanding of the Florida Lemon Law, but also to win a lemon law case.
- Gather documentation – There are any number of documents that need to be collected to make a solid case for a Florida lemon. Such documents include:
- Copies of correspondence with the vehicle’s automaker or dealer.
- A repair log detailing the car’s mileage (at service time), dates of service, and services performed.
- The manufacturer’s warranty (or a copy of it).
- Receipt or bill of sale for the car.
- Notify the manufacturer – Car owners who want to label their vehicles as lemons must officially notify the vehicle’s manufacturer. To make the situation right, the owner of the vehicle must give the manufacturer or car dealership a “reasonable number of repair attempts,” to correct the issues. In Florida, the “reasonable number of repair attempts” is three.
- Hire an experienced Florida lemon law attorney – Certain states provide lemon law attorney fees. Under the Florida lemon law, the manufacturer of the vehicle (not the vehicle owner) pays for attorney fees. Furthermore, the vehicle owner may be entitled to either a buyback or replacement vehicle should they win their lemon law case.
Do you think your car is a lemon? If so, your best bet is to contact the professionals at badvehicle.com. Contact us today so we can make the Florida lemon law work for you.